Windermere East
Windermere West
Southern Verges

Langdale Area
Coniston Region
Wordsworth Country
Western Lakes
West Coast
Thirlmere Area
Derwentwater Area
Ullswater Area
Penrith region
North Cumbria
East Cumbria

Map & satellite

Mountains Of The Lake District
Lakes and Tarns
Valleys and Dales
Towns and Villages
Historic Buildings
Abbeys And

Prehistoric Sites
Visitor Attractions
Long Distance
Footpaths & Walks

History Of Cumbria


Accommodation Contact

Welcome to English Lakes

Join us on a tour of the county of Cumbria

This site is designed as a guide to the places of interest, landscape, historic buildings, towns and villages in the county of Cumbria, the third largest county in England. The English Lake District National Park, particularly, is an area of outstanding natural beauty, covering 2,292 sq km it offers a unique panorama of mountains, dales and lakes, encompassing some of the finest scenery in Britain, which casts its own particular spell over visitors.

Brathay Woods, Clappersgate

English Lake District

The area is also rich in fine historic buildings and prehistoric remains, and has something to offer everyone from mountaineering, abseiling, walking sailing, rowing, canoeing, fishing and mountainbiking.

Tarn Hows

Tarn Hows

The Lakes and fells are home to a diversity of fauna and flora. The majestic Golden Eagle is a thrilling sight, which has now returned to the area after an absence of 200 years and can be observed soaring on air currents high over Haweswater.

Looking into Wasdale from the west


This easy to navigate site is designed as an illustrated guide to the best the English Lake District has to offer the visitor, including sections on the individual lakes, mountains, passes, the best villages, the most scenic waterfalls, historic monuments, gardens, visitor attractions and events. All the information you require to plan a perfect holiday in the lakes can be found here.