Windermere East
Windermere West
Southern Verges

Langdale Area
Coniston Region
Wordsworth Country
Western Lakes
West Coast
Thirlmere Area
Derwentwater Area
Ullswater Area
Penrith region
North Cumbria
East Cumbria

Map & satellite

East Cumbria


Ashgill Force
Barbon Valley
Brough Castle
Cautley Spout
Fox's Pulpit
Great Asby
Great Ormside
Hell Gill Force
Killington Lake
Kirkby Stephen
Lammerside Castle
Mallerstang Dale
Maulds Meaburn
Pendragon Castle
Poetry Path
River Lune
Rutter Force

Uldale Force




OS Grid ref:- SD 657920

The characterful old market town of Sedbergh, known as England's 'book town' stands beneath the Howgill Fells on high ground above the meeting point of the Lune and Rawthey rivers.


The town, which stands seven and a half miles (12km) east of Kendal, now lies in Cumbria, but is designated as part of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Sedbergh boasts a rich history which stretches back to Saxon times. Mentioned in the Domesday Book, it was granted its market charter in the thirteenth century. Pronounced 'Sedber' the name is thought to derive from the Old Norse 'Set berg' meaning a flat topped hill.

SedberghRiver Rawthey

St Andrew's Church was built in Norman times, though restored periodically since then, it retains many interesting features, the large and colourful east window is particularly beautiful. The church is probably the oldest building in the town and is pleasantly situated by playing fields and meadows. George Fox (1624- 1691), the founder of the Society of Friends or Quakers, preached in St Andrew's church in 1652, he referred to the church as a "steeple house, he also preached on nearby Firbank Fell, during his ministry in the north of England.

George Fox also preached at the nearby Meeting House at Briggflatts. The building dates to 1675, giving it the distinction of being the oldest Quaker meeting house in the north of England. It still retains much of its original oak furniture.

Sedbergh is noted for its famous public school, which stands in a highly attractive parkland setting on the outskirts of the town. Elegant houses on Sedbergh's outskirts give way to a characterful narrow main street at its centre, which is lined with busy shops and pubs. Shops include a well stocked food store, outdoor clothing, a butchers, chemists, Post Office and Banks. The Sleepy Elephant gift and book shop is housed in a medieval building. The name was inspired by a reference in A W Wainwright's book 'Walks on the Howgill Fells' where he describes the Howgills as "likened to a huddle of squatting elephants". Prince Charles Edward Stuart, known to history as 'Bonnie Prince Charlie' is reputed to have hid in a chimney in the building, during his retreat north during the 1745 Jacobite Rebellion. He is said to have then escaped in disguise with the pack horses that were carrying woollen goods produced in Weaver's Yard.


There is there is an open-air market in the town which is held each Wednesday. Outside of the main shopping area, the town is dominated by its public school, which was founded in 1525.

Just outside the town stands Castlehaw, a Norman motte and bailey castle constructed to counter Scottish invaders.

The summit of Winder Fell, at 1551 ft (473 m) on a clear day offers superb views of the mountains of the Lake District, the Yorkshire Dales and to the south the Pennines, Dent and the Lune Valley stretching to Morecame Bay.

A walk to the Calf (Howgills) from Sedbergh

Distance 8 miles

Towns and Villages of Cumbria