Briggflatts Quaker Meeting House
OS Grid ref:- SD 642912
The Quaker Meeting House at Briggflatts, to the south of Sedbergh bears the distinction of being the oldest in northern England.
Constructed in 1675, the building is considered as one of England’s vernacular gems. The characterful stone lime washed building is set in a small garden and surrounded by fields.
George Fox (July 1624 – 13 January 1691), the founder of the Quaker movement or Society of Friends, preached extensively in northern England in 1652. In June of that year he preached in the churchyard of St. Andrew's church at Sedbergh and later at a great open-air meeting on Firbank Fell, the crag upon which he preached is now known as Fox's Pulpit
. In 1677 George Fox returned to Briggflatts with his wife Margaret, (formerly Fell). The Meeting House was restored in 1997.
The building is the subject of Basil Bunting's poem "At Briggflatts meetinghouse"
Further information on Quakers in Cumbria
Swarthmoor Hall - Historic Quaker HallImage copyright Carl Bendelow