The Ruskin Museum
The Ruskin Museum was established in Coniston Village in 1901, by W.G. Collingwood, a local artist and antiquarian who had been Ruskin's secretary, set it up both as a memorial to John Ruskin, Victorian artist, critic, teacher, writer, amateur geologist and philosopher and as a celebration of the area's unique heritage.
The museum houses a Ruskin collection, but also has exhibits relating to the coppermines, slate, geology, lace, farming and Donald Campbell. The museum was extended in 1999 with funding from a Heritage Lottery grant; additional building, computer displays, and hands-on exhibits have been added.
A "Campbell Gallery" extension is being added to the building. It is expected that when Donald Campbell's boat 'Bluebird' is restored it will be housed in this extension along with a display of memorabilia and computer displays.